Work, Earn, Invest With Us


Facst about apes

By dracoc • 3 weeks ago • 17 • 1

Apes are humanity's closest living relatives. In fact, people are apes; humans share about 98 percent of their DNA with chimpanzees. The non-human types of apes are divided into two groups: great apes — gorillas, bonobos, chimpanzees and orangutans — and lesser apes — gibbons and siamangs.

Apes are not monkeys; they belong to different branches of the Simian infraorder, and there are several physical differences. Apes do not have tails, while most monkeys do, and apes are typically larger than monkeys, according to the Smithsonian National Zoological Park. Apes' noses are short and broad, while monkeys' noses are more snout-like. Apes also have larger brains than monkeys, and they are capable of using tools and learning language. 

Orangutan Indah holds her two-week-old baby girl, born on Oct. 25, 2013, at the San Diego Zoo. (Image credit: Ken Bohn, San Diego Zoo.)


Just like their classifications suggest, great apes are large, while lesser apes are small. Gorillas, the largest of the apes, typically are about 4.5 to 5.5 feet (1.37 to 1.67 meters) tall when upright and weigh 200 to 450 lbs. (91 to 204 kilograms), according to Defenders of Wildlife. Mountain gorillas, though, can grow to 6 feet tall and weigh 300 to 485 lbs. (135 to 220 kg).

Orangutans are the world's largest tree-dwelling animal. They grow to 4 to 4.5 feet (1.2 to 1.4 m) tall and weigh 90 to 200 lbs. (41 to 91 kg). 

Related Post viewed by other
1 Replies | Last update 3 weeks ago | Last comment

Requires Login

Information Bar
🔥🔥HOT🔥🔥 LPVFORUM Income Members Payout Processed - Today's Payout List - Over 4Million Paid